

Lifetime Achievement Award Description

Award Description

The American Organization for Nursing Leadership Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest and most prestigious award given to a member of the organization recognized by the broader nursing community as a significant leader in the nursing profession. Selection for this honor recognizes an individual's outstanding and sustained contributions to the nursing profession and AONL, as well as exemplary professional practice and nursing leadership.

The nominee must have served AONL and the profession of nursing in a significant leadership capacity, demonstrating the qualities of leadership and service to the nursing profession by his/her professional and personal example.

Eligibility Criteria

- Must be an AONL Member or retired member.
- Current members of the AONL Board of Directors and/or AONL staff are not eligible.

Nomination Process

- Any AONL member may nominate a candidate for the award by submitting a nomination <u>form</u> and supporting documentation for the submission criteria.
- The nomination form should list examples of the nominee's leadership in elevating the voice of nursing, service to AONL and impact on the nursing profession.

Selection Process

The AONL Board of Directors selects the Lifetime Achievement Award winner by scoring each nomination using the following submission criteria:

- Leadership:
 - L1: Activities or qualities of the nominee that have influenced nursing standards and professional practice
 - L2: Note various leadership positions
 - L3: Demonstrate citing as a national nursing leader
- Service:
 - S1: Activities of qualities of the nominee that support AONL activities in governance, program or/or committees
 - o S2: Appointment/election to national task forces, commissions, councils, etc.
- *Impact*:
 - I1: Development and execution of creative approaches to nursing leadership
 - o I2: Advances the knowledge base of nursing leadership
 - o I3: Promotes the positive image of nursing
 - o I4: Serves as a formal and informal mentor to nurses

PAST WINNERS:

- Barbara Donaho; Yvonne Munn (both of them were awarded the Honorary Member Award, since renamed to Lifetime Achievement Award)
- Joyce Clifford (2003); Maggie McClure (2004)
- Jo Ellen Koerner (2005)
- Rhonda Anderson (2006)
- Linda Burnes Bolton (2007)
- Gail Wolf (2008)
- Anne Van Slyke (2009)
- Tim Porter O'Grady (2010)
- Coleen Goode (2011)
- Mary Ann Fralic (2012)
- Marilyn Chow (2013)
- Suzanne P. Smith (2014)
- Kathleen Bower (2015)
- Kathy Stanford (2016)
- Pam Thompson (2017)
- Linda Q. Everrett (2018)
- Gail Latimer (2019)